WRITING AND RANDOM THOUGHTS BLOG POST

I found this article on a great site: Writing and Random Thoughts and it really struck a cord with me.  For weeks I have been trying to decide what I should do about the money Dorchester Publishing owes to me and the two books I wrote for them, which are basically lost to me…I can’t even get copies for future events, but after reading this it sounds like there is nothing I can do.  Authors are just “above pond scum” when it comes to the legal issues of a publisher going bankrupt.  Wow, I really feel special now!

http://rehunter.org/2012/03/08/what-happens-to-authors-when-their-publisher-hits-the-wall/

Image

6 thoughts on “WRITING AND RANDOM THOUGHTS BLOG POST

  1. Thanks for sharing this article, Veronica. I hate to say it but I think of your situation all the time and that’s why I’m uber determined to find an agent. One thing that really gets my goat is the fact that the bankrupt publisher still get to sell your books and earn a profit (or whatever it is at that point) and you’ll still likely never see a penny from it. Let’s make sure to keep tabs with each other on the agent hunt. I’ve got a few queries out now, but I don’t expect to hear back for awhile.

    1. I think about my situation all the time, too! LOL! Actually, I’m having a really hard time moving past this and I’m really mad at myself for letting this get me down so much. It’s really affected my writing and that is the worst thing. Since receiving a royalty statement in January (no royalties, just a statement) and seeing how much money Black Horse had made so far, but knowing I would never see any of it, I’ve really been depressed! Both Black Horse and White Owl are still available on Amazon, so where is that money going if they are still selling? But, even getting my rights back would be useless…who would want a book that was already published? It’s truly a no-win situation. Thank you so much for your support, Shannon. Let’s definitely stay in touch. I’m so excited about your blossoming writing career!!

  2. Hi Veronica. Thanks for the link, and the follow. I hope you realize that my “pond scum” comment refers to the way the legal system treats authors in a bankruptcy, not their actual value 8^). I once read an alternate version of the Golden Rule: those with the gold make the rules.

    You might want to check with a lawyer to see if there is anything you can do and should be doing (in my limited experience, the first consultation is always free). You at least want to have your name on the list of creditors in case there is a liquidation of assets. It is possible that there’s something in your contract that could help you. If they haven’t yet gone into creditor protection or liquidation and you haven’t been paid you may be able to get a judgement against them, a lien on their assets, or even force them into liquidation. But only a lawyer can tell you those things for sure.

    1. Thank you, R.E. for responding. I knew the “pond scum” comment was in referral to how the courts look at authors and nothing personal. I really appreciate your advise and I believe there are several lawsuits against Dorchester already from other authors. I definitely plan to seek legal advice about how I should proceed. Thanks again!!

      1. You’re welcome. I know it must be very difficult and depressing for you. I hope it turns out well. Maybe someone will organize a Dorchester victims support group 8^).

        If there are enough authors involved it might be possible to organize a class-action lawsuit (which saves everyone money on legal fees), but I have no idea what’s involved in doing so.

        One thing you might want to consider if you can get your rights back: self-publish them. I’ve read several experiences of authors who put their backlist up on Amazon just because they felt they had nothing to lose, and were surprised how much money they made from it. If you’re name is already known, you don’t even have to do much in the way of publicity.

      2. A class-action lawsuit would be the way to go if the Dorchester authors would band together. I’m going to check that out, and once again, thank you for your suggestions!!!

Leave a Reply

